Utah offers four distinct Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) programs ranging from 16 to 36 months in duration, with tuition spanning from approximately $25,792 to $73,000. These programs serve career-changers who already hold bachelor’s degrees in other fields and want to transition into nursing efficiently.
Utah ABSN Programs at a Glance
| School | Location | Estimated Cost | Minimum GPA Required | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Salt Lake City | $38K-$46K | 3.0 GPA | 16 months | |
Draper | $23K | 2.75 GPA | 20 months | |
Provo | $73K | GPA not specified | 36 months | |
South Jordan, Henderson | $74K | 2.75 GPA | 18 months |
Comparing ABSN Programs in Utah
TLDR: Quick Selection Guide
Choose Grand Canyon University if you want a highly ranked 16-month program with a 95.57% NCLEX pass rate (2024), faith-based servant leadership emphasis, year-round sequential courses, and the option to complete prerequisite courses online through GCU at $425 per credit.
Choose Joyce University if you want the most affordable option ($22,695 tuition), no separate prerequisite courses required before starting, a 94.31% NCLEX pass rate (2024), and state-of-the-art simulation training at the Joyce Johnson Center of Simulation with provisional SSH accreditation.
Choose Provo College if you want no waiting list or delayed acceptance, flexibility to balance education with other commitments, 36-month completion timeline, and CCNE accreditation with comprehensive “Human Caring Nursing” curriculum totaling 120 credit hours.
Choose Roseman University if you want to complete in under 18 months using the unique “Block System” where you master one content area at a time with 90% mastery requirement, choose between traditional on-campus or hybrid-online formats, and benefit from fall/spring/summer cohort starts through competitive rolling admissions.
Program Length & Format
Shortest Program
Grand Canyon University offers the fastest completion at 16 months using a hybrid learning model with online coursework combined with hands-on nursing skills labs, immersive simulations, and supervised clinical rotations at local healthcare facilities across 12 locations in seven states including Utah (Salt Lake/Sandy).
Under 18 Months
Roseman University completes in less than 18 months at its South Jordan, Utah campus (also Henderson, Nevada), offering both traditional on-campus and hybrid-online formats using a unique Block System where students focus on one content area at a time and must achieve 90% mastery to progress.
Format Comparison
Hybrid Models: Grand Canyon University, Joyce University, and Provo College all combine online lectures with mandatory in-person labs and clinical rotations.
Dual Format Options: Roseman University uniquely offers both traditional on-campus and hybrid-online modalities, with the hybrid option delivering lecture content online while clinical rotations, labs, and group work occur in person.
Faith-Based Emphasis: Grand Canyon University integrates Christian worldview and servant leadership principles throughout the 16-month curriculum with required coursework including CWV-101 Christian Worldview.
Block vs. Semester Structure: Roseman University uses a Block System focusing on one content area at a time, while other programs follow traditional semester calendars.
Most Affordable ABSN Programs in Utah
Joyce University – $22,695 (Tuition Only)
Joyce University offers Utah’s most affordable ABSN at $22,695 for tuition (17 general education credits × $267 plus 68 core nursing credits × $267), with the distinctive advantage of requiring no separate prerequisite courses before program entry.
Grand Canyon University – $26,200 per Academic Year
Grand Canyon University provides the second most affordable option at $26,200 per academic year for tuition across the 16-month program, with total estimated costs ranging from $37,800 to $45,900 depending on living arrangements.
Prerequisite Course Patterns for Utah ABSN Programs
Utah ABSN programs show significant variation in prerequisite requirements, with some requiring extensive completion before entry and others integrating prerequisites directly into the curriculum.
- Grand Canyon University and Roseman University require traditional prerequisite completion before the nursing curriculum begins.
- Joyce University and Provo College build all requisite content directly into their programs, eliminating separate prerequisite completion periods.
Grand Canyon University requires nine prerequisite courses completed within seven years with a cumulative prerequisite GPA of 3.25 or higher.
Courses include: Human Anatomy and Physiology II (with lab), Microbiology (with lab), Applied Nutrition, Applied Pathophysiology, Introduction to General, Organic and Biochemistry (with lab), and Lifespan Development.
Roseman University mandates 49 semester prerequisite credits with grades of C (2.0) or higher.
Courses include 16 credits of physical/biological science (with 12 credits specifically in anatomy, physiology, and microbiology with labs), 6 credits social science, 3 credits statistics, 6 credits English composition, 6 credits humanities, 9 elective credits, and 3 credits US and/or Nevada Constitution.
Joyce University stands out by requiring no separate prerequisite courses—all foundational content is completed as part of the integrated 85-credit program, eliminating the typical 1-2 year prerequisite completion period.
Provo College similarly integrates prerequisites into its 120-credit-hour curriculum with 53 general education credits covering chemistry, anatomy and physiology, psychology, sociology, ethics, and statistics built into the accelerated 36-month plan.
Start Dates and Cohort Availability
| School | Start Date(s) | Application Deadline(s) |
|---|---|---|
| Grand Canyon University | Year-round (sequential courses) | Contact admission counselor (rolling process) |
| Joyce University | Start dates not specified | No entrance exams required; general admissions fees apply |
| Provo College | No waiting list | Straightforward admissions; TEAS minimum 58.7% required |
| Roseman University | Fall, Spring, and Summer | Competitive rolling admissions |
Schools with Multiple Start Options
Roseman University admits cohorts in Fall, Spring, and Summer terms through a competitive rolling admissions process, providing flexibility for students who complete prerequisites on different timelines and requiring TEAS overall score of 58.7% minimum taken within 12 months prior to application.
Grand Canyon University operates year-round with sequential courses that must be completed in order, limiting enrollment to ensure quality education while allowing students to start after completing nine prerequisite courses with 3.25+ cumulative prerequisite GPA.
Schools with No Waiting List
Provo College specifically highlights no waiting list or delayed acceptance as a program benefit, using a straightforward admissions process requiring minimum TEAS score of 58.7%, video essay completion, meeting with admissions representative, and required immunization proof.
Joyce University requires no entrance exams if qualifying official transcript submitted, with new student orientation attendance mandatory and the distinctive advantage of immediate program entry without separate prerequisite completion periods.
Rolling vs. Fixed Admissions Cycles
Grand Canyon University and Roseman University both employ rolling admissions models, with GCU requiring pre-admission interviews with university counselors and development of pre-enrollment plans, while Roseman uses a competitive scoring rubric evaluating academic achievement, interview performance, TEAS scores, and writing samples with accepted students submitting non-refundable $250 seating deposit within 14 days.
Joyce University and Provo College offer more flexible application processes with general admissions procedures and no extensive prerequisite verification periods before acceptance.
Utah ABSN Program Summaries
Grand Canyon University ABSN Program
Salt Lake City | $53,550 | 16 Months
Grand Canyon University runs its 16-month hybrid ABSN at a Salt Lake (Sandy) learning site, letting Utah residents train for nursing without relocating. The hybrid model pairs online nursing theory with in-person skills labs, simulation, and clinical rotations at local facilities.
Why Grand Canyon University Stands Out
- 95% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate at the Salt Lake (Sandy) location (2024); ranked #13 nationally for nursing (2026).
- Three cohort starts a year, with clinical placements coordinated near Salt Lake City.
- Two entry paths: transfer 60+ non-nursing credits (or a prior bachelor's), or complete prerequisites through GCU first.
- A Christian worldview is integrated across the curriculum.
- $53,550 estimated tuition for the 63-credit accelerated portion; HLC-accredited institution (programs designed to meet AACN Essentials).
Joyce University ABSN Program
Draper | $60,520 | 20 Months
Joyce’s hybrid second-degree BSN integrates required sciences and combines online coursework with Utah skills immersions and assigned clinical placements. Completion in as few as 20 months requires qualifying transfer credits. Estimated tuition is $60,520, with a separate $3,710 NCLEX Resources Fee. Clinical schedules and locations are assigned and may require travel; the 517.5 training hours combine simulation and direct care.
Provo College ABSN Program
Provo | $73,000 | 36 Months
Provo College offers an accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program that can be completed in as little as 36 months. This program is designed to provide a flexible learning experience through a blend of online coursework and in-person clinical experiences, allowing students to balance their education with other life commitments. Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the program prepares students for the NCLEX-RN licensure exam and equips them with the skills needed to excel in various healthcare settings. Tuition for the program is approximately $73,000, with financial aid options available to support students. The admissions process includes a video essay, meeting with an admissions representative, and a minimum score requirement on the TEAS exam... read more.
Roseman University ABSN Program
South Jordan | $73,200 | 18 Months
The Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN) program at Roseman University of Health Sciences is designed to be completed in just 18 months, offering an efficient path to becoming a registered nurse. With campuses in Henderson, NV, and South Jordan, UT, the program provides flexibility through both hybrid-online and on-campus learning modalities. Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the program boasts a high NCLEX pass rate and strong employment outcomes. The South Jordan campus offers a unique blend of urban and outdoor experiences, with proximity to Salt Lake City’s vibrant culture and the stunning Wasatch Mountains. Tuition is approximately $62,000, with financial aid options available.